Rural School Innovation Zone

Superintendents from four South Texas school districts sign a resolution at Premont High School’s CASE Center on Thursday establishing the creation of a Rural School Innovation Zone. Pictured, from left, are San Diego ISD Superintendent Sam Bueno, Freer ISD Superintendent Conrad Cantu, Brooks County ISD Superintendent Maria Rodriguez Casas and Premont ISD Superintendent Steve VanMatre. 

Superintendents and board presidents of four nearby South Texas school districts signed a resolution Thursday evening establishing the creation of a Rural School Innovation Zone that will allow them to share educational services in partnership with Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Del Mar College and Coastal Bend College.

The Premont, Brooks County, Freer and San Diego Independent School Districts will be the founding member districts participating in the RSIZ, with Ed Point and Empower Schools providing technical assistance throughout the zone’s formation.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.