The filing period for candidates to be placed on the March 3 ballot for the Kleberg County 2020 Primary Election is scheduled to open on Saturday, Nov. 9.

Local offices up for election this year are as follows: 105th District Attorney, Kleberg County Commissioners Pct.1 and Pct. 3, Kleberg County Constables Pcts. 1-4, Kleberg County Sheriff, Kleberg County Attorney and Kleberg County Tax Assessor-Collector. All offices are for four-year terms.

The filing deadline for the Primary Election is Dec. 9 at 6 p.m.

Candidates wishing to file for a place on the Primary Election ballot must file with the party chairs for the Republican and Democratic parties.

The Democratic Party Chair is Leo Alarcon, who was appointed by the party’s executive committee on Oct. 10 to serve the unexpired term after its previous chair, Kyle Benson, resigned.

Alarcon can be reached by phone at (361) 455-1393 or by email at He is also available by appointment only at 1501 E. Warren Ave. in Kingsville.

The Republican Party Chair is Bob Pena, who can be reached by phone at (361) 522-9722 or by email at

Candidates must also file forms appointing a campaign treasurer prior to filing an application for a place on the ballot with Kleberg County Clerk’s office, located on the first floor of the Kleberg County Courthouse, at 700 E. Kleberg Ave.

For a candidate’s guide to nomination and general election in 2020, visit the Texas Secretary of State’s website at

Anthony Ruiz can be contacted at or (361) 221-0251.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.