UIL Realignment

The H.M. King Brahmas will remain in District 16-4A, Division I in football from 2020-22. (File Photo)

The University Interscholastic League released the newest bi-annual district realignments for the 2020-22 seasons in high school sports for football, basketball and volleyball on Monday, with some changes for the area high schools.

H.M. King

The H.M. King Brahmas have no changes in their football district of 16-4A, Division I.

Hidalgo, La Feria, Rio Grande City Grulla and Zapata all remain district opponents for HMK for the next two seasons.

However, there will be a shakeup in the mix for District 31-4A for the Brahmas as they face off with new opponents in volleyball and basketball.

District 26-4A will receive former HMK opponents Beeville, Sinton, Corpus Christi West Oso, Ingleside and Rockport-Fulton to leave room for schools who will move down into the Brahmas’ district from Class 5A to Class 4A.

The Bulls will now square off in volleyball and basketball with former members of Class 5A such as Alice, Calallen and Tuloso-Midway.

Zapata will also be a new district opponent for the Bulls, with Robstown being the only team to remain in the district with HMK.


Bishop and Santa Gertrudis Academy

The Bishop Badgers and SGA Lions will remain in District 16-3A, Division I in football, however the district will add two new opponents and shrink from an eight-team district to seven.

George West will depart the district to move into District 15-3A, Division II, as Mathis and Aransas Pass shift gears to District 15-3A, Division I.

The London Pirates move up from District 16-3A, Division II to Division I, and the Progreso Red Ants move down from Class 4A, Division II to Class 3A, Division I.

Lyford, San Diego and Falfurrias will still be opponents for the Badgers and Lions.

In basketball and volleyball, both teams will move from District 31 to District 30-3A, into an eight-team district.

Familiar faces Banquete, London, Falfurrias, Hebbronville and San Diego make up the district, with the inclusion of new opponent Laredo Harmony.



The Riviera Seahawks remain in District 16-2A, Division I, but will see changes in their district, including shrinking from six teams to five.

The Class 2A, Division I State Champion Refugio Bobcats will no longer be on the district schedule for the Seahawks, as well as Three Rivers and Freer as they all move to District 15.

La Villa and Premont will both move up from Division II to Division I, as Santa Maria and Ben Bolt stay in the district to make up the Seahawks opponents for next season.

District 32-2A will be the new home for the Seahawks in basketball, but they will remain opponents to Agua Dulce, Ben Bolt, Freer and Premont, who are also new to the district.

The now seven-team district also includes La Villa and Santa Maria who were already in District 32.

In volleyball, the Lady Hawks remain in District 32-2A as the district expands by one team.

Bruni was added to the new eight-team district, which includes Premont, La Villa, Lasara, San Isidro, San Perlita and Santa Maria.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.